Frank Ocean to Possibly Release New Album, ‘Boys Don’t Cry’ Friday

A new Frank Ocean project is imminent.

After a number of years with no releases, recently teased information alludes to the possible release of a new Frank Ocean album exclusively on Apple Music tomorrow, August 5.

The last project we heard from Christopher Francis Ocean–better known as Frank Ocean–was his 2012 Grammy-award-winning debut channel ORANGEThe album, which was well received and critically acclaimed, helped drive the artists’ name further into the limelight. The album sold more than 100,000 units in its first week and currently has a Gold RIAA Certification.


Buzz first began for Ocean’s followup album in 2013 when he announced he had begun working on what would be another conceptual album to follow his 2012 release. Three years later there has yet to be a release–possibly, until now.

On July 2, 2016, he alluded to a potential second album release after putting a picture on his website. The picture is of library card labeled “Boys Don’t Cry” with numerous date stamps, potentially having a meaning related to personal due dates for the project. The dates begin with July 2, 2015 and conclude with November 13, 2016.

Here’s a condensed Frank Ocean timeline:

  • October 2010

  • February 2011

    • Ocean releases his mixtape, nostalgia,ULTRA. The mixtape featured songs “Swim Good” and “Novacane.”
Cover art for “nostalgia, ULTRA.”
  • July 2012

    • Ocean came out as bisexual and addresses a love for another man he had when he was 19 in a post on his tumblr blog.
    • Ocean releases his debut album, channel ORANGE.
Cover art for “channel ORANGE”
  • February 2013

    • In an interview with Zane Lowe on Lowe’s BBC Radio 1 show, Ocean said that he was 10 or 11 songs into his next project. “I’m like 10,11 songs into this next thing,” he said on the show. “It’s another cohesive thing bordering on a concept album again. At the end of channel ORANGE there’s ‘Golden Girl’ and I kind of want to extend that feeling into the next record. I’m going to Bora Bora when I get back and setting up a studio there and see what happens.”
  • July 2013

    • Ocean is featured on Jay Z’s 12th album, Magna Carta Holy Grail, on the song “Oceans.” 
    • Ocean performs a new song during a concert in London.

  • September 2014

  • November 2014

    • Ocean releases a snippet, “Memrise,” of what is believed to be a single from his upcoming album.

  • April 2015

    • Name change to Christopher Francis Ocean is official.
    • Ocean posts a photo on his tumblr page holding magazines with the title Boys Don’t Cry.
      Image via Frank Ocean’s website. Original caption reads: “I got two versions. I got twoooo versions.” #ISSUE1 #ALBUM3 #JULY2015 #BOYSDONTCRYApril 2015
    • One of Ocean’s reps told Billboard an album and a publication was to be due out July 2015.
  •  February 2016

    • Ocean appears on “Wolves” on Kanye West’s album The Life of Pablo.

  • July 2016

    • Ocean posts a photo to his website of a due date page from books that normally appears at libraries. The page contained multiple “due dates” some of them including dates that are purported to be significant in the timeline of his album releases. The most recent of the releases being a smudged “JUL __ 2016” and Nov. 13, 2016.  The tag also has “Boys Don’t Cry” on the bottom of it.
    • Theophilus London tweets about a new Frank Ocean album.

  • August 2016

    • Ocean’s website begins streaming an empty room looping video. Francisco Soriano took credit for the video in a now-deleted post on Instagram.
    • The New York Times reported the new album would be released August 5 through Apple.

Though this isn’t an end-all-be-all writeup of the Frank Ocean timeline, it’s enough to give fans and new readers an idea of the time it has taken for the artist to release new music. Could the dates be tracks he wrote (a la Kendrick Lamar untitled unmastered.)? Could it all be a troll? Fans will not know until tomorrow.

Hensley Carrasco
Hensley graduated from the University of Rhode Island where he was the editor-in-chief of the school newspaper, the Good 5 Cent Cigar. He founded the site with hopes to add to the ever-growing digital music newsroom. Hensley generally writes about Hip-Hop, but other genres are not out of his writing spectrum. On the side, Hensley is a photographer, specializing in concert photography.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: