Modern RockMusic

Red Hot Chili Peppers Share New Single, Detail Upcoming Album

The Red Hot Chili Peppers have released a new single, “Dark Necessities,” and have shared with fans details from their long-awaited upcoming album. The new 13-track album, The Getaway, is due out this summer on June 17.

After an initial listen, fans can hear that the single has a classic Chili Peppers sound. It features dark, fast-paced lyrics that draw from frontman Anthony Kiedis’s past experience as a drug addict, and is held together by a funky bass-line from Flea, who along with Kiedis, is a founding member of the band.


“You don’t know my mind/
You don’t know my kind/
Dark necessities are part of my design.”

-Lyrics from “Dark Necessities”

The Getaway will be the band’s 11th studio album and their first since 2011’s I’m With You.

Below is the track listing from The Getaway:

  1. The Getaway
  2. Dark Necessities
  3. We Turn Red
  4. The Longest Wave
  5. Goodbye Angels
  6. Sick Love
  7. Go Robot
  8. Feasting on the Flowers
  9. Detroit
  10. This Ticonderoga
  11. Encore
  12. The Hunter
  13. Dreams of a Samurai

The band is currently on a world tour. Most of the dates are outside the United States, but the band will make stops in California–the band’s home state–and Ohio in May. The band will also perform at Lollapalooza in July.

Juan Siliezar
the authorJuan Siliezar
Juan is a Providence, R.I.-based writer who contributes to the modern rock section. Juan is an avid writer, reader and lover of simple things. Besides music, his interest lies in education. He writes grant proposals for a Boston education nonprofit and was a contributing writer at Noodle Education.

Leave a Reply

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
%d bloggers like this: